V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are any of you folks x-gold wingers? If so, would you please compare them to the ultra-classic to help me decide if I want to cross over or not. Both pro and cons Thanks dj

·
Registered
48 Posts
dj,
I am not technically an x-winger coz I still have my 89 wing. Have had a wing since 84 so its hard to break up with them. I bought a used Y2K Ultra back in May and here is my pro's and cons. Seating goes to the wing. I will be replacing the oem seat on the ultra to see if it will help. suspesion and steering to the wing, i feel like I am wresling at low speeds with the ultra. torque and getty up to the ultra, although have not tried the new wings. looks to the ultra, maintenance to the wing but do it yourself stuff to the ultra. I can only say is that for confort and features you cannot beat a wing but for the prestigue of an HD there is nothing like the feeling you get when you are on the Ultra. Your choice, what is your priorities? Good luck..

ps Still have my wing ;)

·
Registered
68 Posts
My opinions are sligtly different, handling and steering, Harley, seating goes to Harley also, fuel economy also goes to Harley, maintenance goes to the WIng, looks are definitely the harleys. Engine heat is much less on the Harley, but also wind protection goes to the Wing.
Good Luck
Gary

·
Registered
354 Posts
dj,
Although I have never owned a Gold Wing, I did rent one for the better part of a weekend. It was the new model, the 1832cc GL1800. What I remember most about the bike was the amazing power for such a big bike. I ride a 1998 FLHTC now, and power-wise it can't touch the Wing. I doubt a TC88 could either.

Overall I was pretty impresed with the Wing. It would be worth your while to rent one and see for yourself.

It turned out that I did not buy the Wing, but instead picked up the used '98 FLHTC. The Wing was just a little too big looking for me, although it really does handle well.