V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Kerker 2 into 1 exhaust for my 84 FXR and it is plain stainless. I was planning on wrapping it to provide some insulation and avoid burning myself as much as possible. My friend a career bike mechanic tells me that he HATES wrapped pipes because they hold onto to much heat.
I have zero experience with wrapping pipes and I would appreciate your thoughts, experience, advise, wisecracks, etc.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
39 Posts
I did it once and that was enough for me.

Your best shot at getting the wrap applied neatly is to remove the pipes first.

The color burns off pretty quickly and they are unsightly after that.

They do contain the heat though.

·
Registered
2,865 Posts
I wouldn't do it. I had wrapped drags and if you don't use the spray paint on top of the wrap, the wrap deteriorates in like one season, maybe two. If you do wrap it you will be tempted to start at the inlet but for proper overlap (like roof shingles) you need to start at the "exhaust out" end. Two people makes the job easier.
The finish on the pipes will become way worse over time while under the wrap too.

Check out ceramic coating for you pipe.

·
Super Moderator
21,737 Posts
If you wrap it, the finish will be ruined. It will never shine back up. And you run the risk of the stainless over heating and developing a crack.

I'm guessing you have to run forwards on that set up, so figure out where your leg will be and make some heat shields out a stainless pipe a 1/4 in larger than the pipe they are covering. If the shields need to be over the bends, you can buy some pre bent sections and cut the shields out of that.

Past that, I don't see a rear hanger. You have to hang the rear of that pipe off of the trans. Not the frame, it has to be the trans. If you don't it will break the flange studs off in the heads.