V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to take a moment and say Thank you to everyone here in the forum. I am not a bike mechanic I own a construction company in Kansas City. So I’m good with my hands but have never worked on a bike in my life. I’ve ridden my entire life but never wrenched. I decided I wanted to begin working in myself just as in interest I got as I got older now. So here recently I have replaced my front and rear suspension. Installed new Vance and Hines pro piped with the thundermax EFI. Installed new throttle body. We had already changed over to S&S cams and gear drive so I can’t take credit for that but then I chromed my inner primary and while I was in there found that the shifter was welded to the shifter pawl. So completely rebuilt the tranny while it was out. Replaced the main bearing and all other bearings. Installed a new Barnett scorpion clutch. Installed new 14” hangers and all new cables. New front and rear brakes. Rebuilt the front calipers. Then probably more I’m not thinking about but I did all this with a manual and help from you guys here in the forum. I couldn’t have done it without you guys so thank you so much. Bike has never ran so good. Ow we are changing out the inner and outer fairing and installed all new Led lights. This 88” 06 Electra glide flat out smoked a new 113” yesterday. It wasn’t even close. So once again everyone thank you and keep up the good work.

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
This forum is great even for guys who do know how to work on bikes. An enormous think tank and wealth of knowledge on here. Congrats on your build

·
Registered
589 Posts
So true ! Whenever my manual and memory is not enough, i just log in here and help is near.
Had a primary drive thread where my hands were literally held with
the right wrenches through the whole thing.
In some cases a manual is just not enough if you have never done it before.