V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi , 1st post , Been snoopin for a while !
I have been riding 20 plus years ! I have never owned a Harley !
I might be buying a 95 ultra , Has a little over 25,000 miles !
Price is $10,000.00 .
Thats more than my current bike that I bought new !
I ride a 04 shadow spirit 1100 . I need pros & cons
what do I look out for ? I am a ford mechanic .
Any known issues ?

Jack

·
it wasn't me
340 Posts
I wouldn't consider that an older harley. I'd consider a 70's model older.

That bike for that price with those miles sounds about right. A good price for a good bike.

·
Premium Member
184 Posts
Shakedown* said:
I wouldn't consider that an older harley. I'd consider a 70's model older.
I agree with Shakedown.

older = shovels :clap:

old = anything older than a shovel {salute(

I have a '94 Softail Custom and love it! I'm not sayin' it's the end-all bike...but it fits me perfect!!!!!!!

·
Premium Member
3,694 Posts
IMHO, going with a newer model is always a good idea...if the dollars are there! Frankly, the price for a 1995 Ultra appears to be a fair one, particularly considering the low miles. The "known" issues with the Evo platform are well known and are associated with the platform and not peculiar to the Ultra. I owned a '92 FXRS for 8 years so I have no problems with the platform; however, the facts speak for themselves---the Twin Cam platform is better than the Evo platform.

However, the aftermarket is alive & well when it comes to the Evo. If you like tinkering, you can definitely tinker with an Evo--successfully & easily! Make an offer of $9K cash and buy the bike. (Hey, buy the bike at $10K but you can buy a LOT of parts with the thousand bucks you save. You don't ask, you don't get!)

·
Registered
404 Posts
Got an 84 fxr, raked, lowered, cam , etc
Also have and 89 FLHT totalley rebuilt.

Built them both, modified both, wouldn't think of spending 2o plus on a sigle bike.