V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my dilemma. I have a new riding buddy whose 88ci engine grenaded when cam tensioners failed. I had never heard of such a thing so I did some research and sure enough it was a known problem with these engines. I've had my bike for about a year and it now has about 17K miles on it. I am not a mechanic. The best I can do is change the fluids so I take all my work to the local mechanic. I've decided to upgrade the cam plate / oil pump to the 07-13 hydraulic kit to avoid this spring tensioner problem. Of course since the engine is open I was going to do a cam swap. The prices I'm getting so far for this is over $2300 and $2700 parts and labor. I figured since The price was that high I'd check into Big Bore kits. To install the Fuel Moto 88ci to 98ci power package runs $3900 and $4800 from these same two shops.

Here's where the dilemma comes in. I could use some more torque / HP since most of the guys I run with have 103 plus bikes I just didn't think I'd have to give my left kidney to have it. I've always heard you never get your money back on upgrades. Not planning on selling the bike anytime soon, however, I always keep in mind that in the end of the day I'm putting money into a 15 year old bike.

Bike is a 06 street glide with stage 1 consisting of mikuni carb, rheinhart duals, and K&N high flow filter.. So do I just do the hydraulic cam plate / oil pump / cam switch or since half the labor is already paid for is there value in upgrading to the 98ci engine. Is there almost a 2X upgrade in performance in adding the big bore kit over just the cam?

Thanks for any input in advance.

·
Registered
3,574 Posts
The dreaded cam tensioner, yea been there myself