V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Roadking Classic with stock windshield. I am trying to figure out if I need a higher or lower windshield.

When I ride at higher speeds I get alot of wind on forehead and trys to lift my helmet.

If I am riding without a helmet and I have a hat on, it feels like the wind would blow the hat off.

If I made the windshield a little higher, would that move the airflow above my head without causing any unusual handling of the bike.

I have very little experience with such matters.

·
Registered
228 Posts
You would not have any handling issues with a taller windshield. It's just a matter if you want to look over, or through a windshield.

There has been quite a bit written about windshield height.

·
Premium Member
1,348 Posts
alot of it has to do with your leg position.

the windshield creates a low pressure area behind it, and the wind comes up from the front wheel to fill that area, and that's what is blowing up.

if you put your legs out forward, they will act as a air scoop to scoop air into your face.

my RK windshield drives me NUTS. it vibrates my head so bad I can't see long distances. gives me a headache.

i have been slowly hacking away at mine.
a OEM replacement is ~$75 or so (saw one for $50 somewhere...)

mine is pretty short now, and the wind coming up is not bad, but it still buffets from side to side.

i am going to cut some width off it soon.

yeah, search, millions of threads on it.

i used a little cheapie on my ride across country,
go to www.mawonline.com and look for slipstreamer.

for $49, you can't beat it.
it's $149 in the HD catalog, with a little see thru HD logo on it.

·
This Space for Rent
57 Posts
wehohl said:
I have a Roadking Classic with stock windshield. I am trying to figure out if I need a higher or lower windshield.

When I ride at higher speeds I get alot of wind on forehead and trys to lift my helmet.