V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, maybe it's just cause I'm new to the touring style of riding, but whats up with the wind. I was going home yesterday in what felt like 100 mph wind. I was being led off the pavement and had to strain to keep it on the road? I pulled over off the highway and the wind seemed to be blowing no more than about 15-20 mph. Is it just the mass of the RG that makes it act like a sail in cross winds? I've never seemed to notice the wind that much on any other bike? Any info. or suggestions wouod be appreciated.

Thanx, Mo:hmmm:

·
Premium Member
1,348 Posts
got solid rims on it?

prolly need a list of stuff on your bike.

the solid rims on a V-rod will almost blow the bike out from under when exiting off ramps.

how many miles/how used to the bike are you?

my wife sits sideways on her bike (trying to put left knee on something, and right knee is way out on the air cleaner)

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
04CTD,
Have stock 9 spoke rims, have 600 miles on bike, just bought it a few weeks ago, so not very used to it.

·
Registered
13,064 Posts
I like the way the RG handles the wind. The fairing is frame mounted and the wind doesn't mess with steering. You mus have got the "perfect wind", because this bike is better than than the ones with batwings.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
All I can say is that it was the weirdest feeling I 've ever had riding. Maybe it was the perfect wind. Who knows. Maybe it was just the way the cross wind was hitting?

·
Registered
729 Posts
I have to go with the majority and say a RG should not act like that, or at least none of the RG riders I know have complained of such. It is mostly us guys with the Batwings that have really figure out how to overcome HD design short comings (long story).

·
Wrench This
271 Posts
What was the weather like?

Mo1 said: