V-Twin Forum banner

Why the Harley mystique?

6K views 43 replies 30 participants last post by  Willy D200 
#1 ·
Why does it get in our blood, and stay there? There is a simple, true answer, related to blood.

#6 ·
I started riding Harley's and continue to ride Harley's because they're made in the USA, but then so are all my vehicles. As for the "mystique" I was a biker when being a biker wasn't cool...long, long, long before Rub's were around, now the air is thick with'um. It's funny as hell to watch'um and most are zip code riders.

#7 ·
I always loved the history behind the name. Maybe one day I'd have enough green to get one I thought, They were always out of my price range as a young man. A basket case was never a option for the fact I knew diddly squat. Now I own one and still don't know diddly squat, go figure.

I'd love a Indian for the same reason, but I'm a bit bugged about the Harley and Davidson show on what it showed how Indian did them, if it's true then Indian was a fcking b-e-e-i-t-c-h back then.

#16 ·
I always loved the history too but I'm as loyal to Harley as Harley has been to me, thru 45ish years of riding them. I bought a '15 Indian Vintage about a year ago. It's a big heavy slow slug just like my '12 Road King. But the ride/suspension is way better, far superior to the King.... very comfy over the usual bumps and RR tracks and such. I would recommend one to a friend. Harley vs Indian = Ferd vs Chebby.

#9 ·
mystique,,, I'll have a run at it... once you discovered that harleys were considered the pinnacle of riding a bike,, after years of riding others,, you finally got that first harley... then as you rode it,, you discovered the true nature of a harley...

largest, least powerful engine on a bike..
very slow acceleration,,, as compared to any other multi cylinder bike over 500cc.
no where near the top end or speed everyone says harleys can achieve.
very expensive purchase price