V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Every news story I see anymore, if they search someone's house and find guns they confiscate them even if they are not part of any crime. I didn't know it was against the law to have guns but it sure seems like it from the news.

I also had a friend who's barn burnt down and he left his house unlocked, the police went in to see if anyone was home and saw he had a gun collection and confiscated it. He went to court and never saw his guns again. The reason for taking them was because they had suspicion some might be automatic, which they weren't.

·
Rider!
201 Posts
la9 said:
...... left his house unlocked, the police went in to see if anyone was home and saw he had a gun collection and confiscated it.... H
Must have been out or on display....I thought that they couldn't confiscate anything without a search warrant unless the items were reasonably visible.

Of course...I'm not a lawyer...-2$en#e-

·
XLIII
10,078 Posts
la9 said:
Every news story I see anymore, if they search someone's house and find guns they confiscate them even if they are not part of any crime. I didn't know it was against the law to have guns but it sure seems like it from the news.

I also had a friend who's barn burnt down and he left his house unlocked, the police went in to see if anyone was home and saw he had a gun collection and confiscated it. He went to court and never saw his guns again. The reason for taking them was because they had suspicion some might be automatic, which they weren't.
Must be a regional thing. Hell, the FBI only confiscated what they believed to be involved with "the crime" when they raided my gun shop, and I got all those back.
Either the guy was a convicted felon who was barred from owning firearms, his lawyer sucked, or we don't have the whole story.

·
Premium Member
205 Posts
Your friend had guns accessable and left his house unlocked?

·
Registered
13,064 Posts