V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Bowhntr
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be purcharsing my first HD in 2006. I have been riding BMW's, Ducati's, and Guzzi's for the past 10 years, and owned 5 different bikes. Needless to say, this is a big transition for me. Anyway, the Dyna has caught my eye as probably the most practical HD to start with. I like the motor, trans, and mid-mount controls. The only thing I really don't like about the 06's is the tank graphics, and that is the primary reason I'm waiting for an 07. Can you guys weigh in on why you decided on the dyna? Comments from those of you who have made the transition from different types of motorcycles (i.e., sportbikes/sport touring machines) will help. Also, what other HD's did you consider (softails, etc.)? What mods did you do to your dyna when you got it (I plan on adding a set of V&H Big radius).

Thanks!

Screwtop

·
Registered
124 Posts
After renting and test riding Softails, Sportsters, and Dynas, I liked the size, handling and power to weight ratio of the Dynas best. My 6-speed Dyna cruises perfectly on California freeways where the flow is 70-80 MPH, and handles great on mountain roads.

No Mods. I think the power is great, although I would like louder pipes for the sound, not necessarily the performance. My wife thinks loud pipes will anger the neighbors!:thumbsup:

2006 FXDBI

·
Premium Member
250 Posts
I have an '02 Dyna Low Rider. Dynas have more attitude in their appearance, I think, than the bigger bikes. I like the rubber mounted engine as opposed to the softails and I like the looks of the shocks in the back. I also like the looks of a stipped down bike. I test drove a Road King this summer and a friend of mine said it looked like I was riding a cow.

·
Premium Member
27 Posts
You are coming from a sport-touring setup. The Dyna will be a change. This is a cruiser that is sporty, not V-Rod sporty, but sporty.