V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am curious as to why folks might want a tour pack as opposed to a T bag on your backrest/luggage rack. It doesn't seem to hold very much, and I would not want to put a very heavy load there given how high up it is. Any insights would be most appreciated.

·
Registered
23 Posts
My Tour-Pak™ holds a great deal. What is really funny is it seems to be bigger inside than outside. I have stuffed an amazing amount of schtuff in the TP. My bike is my daily transportation and the TP is what makes that possible. I have the large luggage rack on top of it and whatever doesn't fit inside gets strapped to the lid. (I am a graphic designer and I have delivered 36" banners strapped to the lid.) I can't put a week's worth of groceries in the damn thing but I can carry most of my daily needs in it.

I splurged recently and put the Ultra lights on the TP along with the Back-Off module to cycle the lights when the brakes are applied. I have noticed the cars staying a little further back. As amatter of fact it seems to irritate them. :D I really like having the extra lights up higher. I made that decision after following an Ultra in the fog one morning.

As far as balance, I never have noticed it. Even when it is really overloaded on a trip with a large bag on top, it has not been a problem. It may be a matter of just getting used to it.

I really like the way my bike looks without a TP, but I would rather have utility with less kool instead of leaving the bike home and driving. I imagine if I only needed to carry schtuff on trips I would go with the detachable rig or a T-bag. But for daily use, you can't beat a TP.

And, as some of the BBB guys would say, it makes a great place for the Jacuzzi and the fridge. ;)

Oldsmobaggers Rule!

·
Registered
133 Posts