V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
6,880 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to add more power to my bike. I would like to be over the 100/100mark. I ride a 07 RG and I'm having a hard time deciding which way to go in achieving these numbers. The one thing I don't want to do is generate more heat than this 96" is already putting out. I currently have an S&S dual intake, Bassaini RR and TMax auto tune.

My question to all you experts out there is which way would you go? Should I build upon the 96 with complimenting cams, heads, etc? Or go with either a 103 or 107 providing the bike doesn't run hotter. I want power but it has to be reliable and drivable in all riding conditions. Your advice is very much appreciated.

·
Iron Butt, SS2000
3,399 Posts
No Replacement For Displacement

First, I'm no expert but I have spent several nights at Holiday Inn(Express).

I'd go for the 103 & toss in a cam. From your starting point it is more cost effective in terms of $/CID than the 107. (I think the 107 would require case bore)
Have it tuned by the best you can find.

Be very picky about who does your work. (voice of experience)

·
Registered
1,700 Posts
The 107 is no case bore, the Revolution ones have Nikasil coated cylinders, GMR sells them and are great to work with. They have nice heads available too .

With what you have already a 103 should do 100/100 . My all HD stage II 103 is close on hp and over on torque. If warranty isn't a concern , the 107 would be my preference , Steve has a kit
http://www.gmrperformance.com/Twin_C...e_Packages.htm

Also worth considering is the new TW54 or R&R 525 cams

·
Premium Member
2,566 Posts
We consistantly get 105/110 with our R&R stage 2-1/2 on 96" kit conservativly, takes out 20-50 degrees, great linear/ low end torque and as mentioned in many other posts on this and other forums is reliable as you can get.

·
Iron Butt, SS2000
3,399 Posts
nidan said: