V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
guys,
i need your opinion regarding this:
i will be selling my bike with a 1340cc rev tech engine for a 'pure' harley, which of all those sportster models should i get?i would definitely love the 1200 custom but honestly i am a newbie so no knowledge about any of them...tia

·
FOG
6,970 Posts
My last Harley was a '92 FXRT (1340). I got a '03 1200S a few weeks ago. I love the bike except for the exceptionally uncomfortable seat which I just changed to a Mustang Sport Tourer. I also put highway pegs on it, opened up the pipes and carb and added a sport windshield. It rides great now. XLH, Custom or Sport? Just depends on what you like most. They're all great in different ways.

·
Registered
335 Posts
other than 883 or 1200 looks are the major differances, buy the one you like the look and feel of.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks,how about the vibration?i've heard later models were de-vibrated

·
Road Captain
6,628 Posts
Vibrations

rouel74,
Noticed in most of your post, you questioned vibration. Not sure if you're talkin engine vibration, but that I'll presume. The Sporster still come with the Evolution engine ( and I don't believe rubber mount), the new Twin-Cam 88B, features twin counter balancers the the Company claims fully cancel primary engine vibration. Keep in mind, its still a 45 degree twin, there is vibration (or rocking). That's the heart of the Harley (IMHO), the pa-ta-to from the 45 twin. If you buy a Harley, you are going to have vibration at idle and at speed just not as much as in older engines.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Hi Rouel74,