V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Thank you in advance for assisting me. I am new to the Harley community. It is my intent on buying a Road King Classic. I have the opportunity to purchase a 1999 Road King Classic, or a 2005 Road King Classic. I am looking for feedback on which is the better bike. If the differences between the 99, and 05 are a few/none/irrelevant I might be swayed to buy the 1999 model (which has 14,000 miles). Can a few people compare, and contrast the 1999 model vs. the 2005 model. I can buy the 1999 model with a significant amount of mods for $13,500, and I can buy the 05 model for $16,500 (with few mods). Please give me some good guildance....

Thanks,
Maddog
GySgt, USMC (Ret) 6047/8412
GM BuyPower, Certified Internet Manger (Currently employed with GM)
No Wifes, Kids, or Pets

·
Premium Member
113 Posts
I'll take a small whack at it...

Good question and a tough choice. The biggest part of it is the cost of mileage. '99 was the first year HD came out with the Twin Cam Engine and there were a few issues. The motor itself is solid. From '99 to '01, they used a Magnetti-Morelli Fuel injection system which was OK to get things started. In 02', they changed to a Delphi system which they still use today. It's a much better system overall.
I think it was in 04' they changed something in the frame angles to make it a better ride on the highways.
Also, '05 the rear tire got a bit wider.

Ok, guys...flame away! :flames: There's a bunch of oops in there to straighten me out on.

Oh, I would go with the 2005 with minor mods. I've never been a fan of taking the first one off the production line.

Good luck!
Tim

·
2005 Road King Classic
2,649 Posts
the 05. The oil burner is in referring to the bad valve guides but the dealer will tell you it is the valve seals. Ask if the warranty will transfer to you on the 05. If it is a private owner ask the dealership. If so, then buy it.

·