V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well this year has been one thing after another! I’ve been running a 95’’ for 10 years and have starting problems when it’s hot. My son told me to add compression releases in my heads. Well we went ahead and threw a new set of pistons and rings in it and bought a new D&D Fatcat. Shortly after that my bottom and goes out and a price around what it’s going to cost and decided it was cheaper to buy a crate motor. I got the S&S 124 to throw in her but not knowing then what I know now I wouldn’t have gotten the Fatcat and should have gone with the boarzilla. Will the Fatcat not be able to breathe and choke out with this pipe or will it be okay? Sucks that pipe has already been ran on or I’d Exchange it. 🤷🏻‍♂️

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts
Do you have the LC 124 or HIgh Compression 124? Fatcat with perforated performance baffle works. Although be prepared for a noise increase as you will have with a Boarzilla.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you have the LC 124 or HIgh Compression 124? Fatcat with perforated performance baffle works. Although be prepared for a noise increase as you will have with a Boarzilla.
I have the high compression motor with the 640 cam and the baffle is the perforated wrapped

·
Registered
5,275 Posts
Loss compared to what? When comparing aggregate torque the Fatcat will probably beat most. Do you hit the rev limiter often or more of just a cruiser? That motor makes high 120s or low 130s and with that pipe a very respectable torque curve. It is detuned, a point low on compression. Raise that and a little head work and you knock on the 150 squared number, again assuming you ride there. Then a boarzilla and some very good earplugs become relevant.

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts
Boarzilla would be best, but Fatcat and performance baffle will be better than standard or quiet Fatcat baffle.

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts