V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had the battery fail in my '89 FLT today. It's only a year old so I'm kind of surprised. I've only had the bike 2 years and the one that the previous owner had in it failed about a year ago too. I replaced it with an HD model thinking it would hold up better but not so it seems. The disturbing part is that there is no warning. I start the bike and ride some where and when I come back out it gives a little crackel and the whole system is dead. It'd be cool if I got a day or 2 of slow cranking as a warning.

I'm replacing this on with an HD because it's convienient but I've been running an odyssey in my BMW for 3 years with no problems. I was wondering if anybody had been using and odyssey in their HD and what their experience has been.

Thanks.

·
Registered
6,413 Posts
What kind of battery from HD are you talking about? Do you have a part number? HD sells the newer AGM type batteries but they also have available the older "lead acid" type with the fill holes on the top.

You also need to check your charging and electrical system. A '89 model bike has got to have some problems with corrosion and poor connections, especially the grounds. All that stuff will affect battery and longevity.

IMO, there is no better battery at this moment than the AGM type batteries either from HD or some of the other outfits that sell them.

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
Actually I have the original battery in my 2001 Wide Glide and have had no issues. In April it will be 5 years old. If your battery is killing itself once a year, there is probably something else going on....what? I don't know.

Tony

·
Premium octane member
7,381 Posts
Same here, my bike came with the harley battery, and thats what goes back into them....I agree with ed y about the cables should really check for loose ground.....let us know if you find anything..

·
Registered
1,799 Posts