V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello.

I have been stopping into the VTF since I got my '05 RK Custom back in April for tech info and the like and finally decided to join up a few weeks ago... you know, the orange thing.

So I have been posting here and there and meeting some great folks and then found a post from someone, to remain unnamed, giving a newcomer a finger wag about never formally introducing himself...

So this is sort of my scarlet letter debut.

My story...

Started riding when I was fourteen. I was helping my older brother rebuild an abused 1954 chopped 74. He did all the mech stuff and I did the wiring and painting. I used to sit on the fender and we'd hit 120 something (at least that is what he told me)... no helmets... no fear. That bike sent me into the rafters at the gas station where he stored it one afternoon while learning to kick it to everyones enjoyment. Eventually, I started riding it when he was away at college... he never knew.

My brother died shortly thereafter (not on a bike) and we moved to CA. I got into dirt bikes, married a great lady (28 years and counting), switched to street bikes (Honda 360 for 2 days then traded it for a Honda 750 SS) and started having kids. I promised my wife, an emergency room nurse at the time, that I would sell the bike and wait until the kids were older. Twenty-five years later, after having looked at a picture of a FatBoy on my wall for years, went in to look at some... saw the RK Custom, fell in love, and bought it.

So I have been having fun out there riding and, back in the garage, tinkering, modifying, fixing, cussing, and admiring. My wife hops on the back now and again and sometimes we ride towards the full moon at dusk....

Somehow... everytime I get on that thing and feel the wind, the power, the freedom, it brings me back to those days shared with my brother working on and riding that chopper.