V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My HD dealer offers a extended factory warranty. I have seen debates on other extended warranties, but this one in on HD documents and has a published rate schedule for 2 thru 7 years at a cost of $535 thru $1400. I'm looking for opinions on this extended warranty. I am new to both motorcycles and to Harley Davidson. I never buy these warranties on cars or appliances, but I am concerned that the Vrod is not only new but radically different for HD and therefore the bugs might not be totally worked out.

A) any opinions on the need for the extended warranty on a HD product and especially the Vrod, and
B) any experiences with HD and their willingness to stand behind the warranty?

Larry Dunville

·
Registered
543 Posts
I've had warranty work done a couple of times, and it's never been a problem. All my other bikes I only had the standard one year warranty. I was thinkin the same as you when I bought the V-Rod, so I have a 4 year total warranty on it.

Was it a waste of money ? Maybe. With a first year bike, I'd rather not take any chances. They replaced a leaking valve cover gasket and a broken coolant bottle cap already on the V-Rod. No hassles, no charge.

·
Registered
906 Posts
I put 9000 miles on mine and have the extended warranty, I have only had it in the shop a couple of times, just for the scheduled maintenance and they have been very good about it!

Waste of money?? To some it is, until there there is a problem a few years down the line!

·
Registered
99 Posts
Hey Fugly,

I just noticed the other day that my coolant bottle cover was broken too. Mine had just gone in for service and i was wondering if maybe they did it. They covered it under warranty for you?
When you say broken.....my hose connection broke off flush with the hose...same with you?

·
Registered
543 Posts