V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok just purchased new ultra classic, now I am new to HD so when I started to unload my new bike from trailer the dang battery was to low to turn it over. So I put a trickle charge on it overnight. (trickle charger said charged OK next day) Ok next day on my maiden ride I noticed the volt meter stays at 15 VOLTS isn’t that excessive, it ran good for 60 miles till I got home, still staying exactly on 15 volts, (fired right up later)would someone tell me to take this thing back to the dealership or what to do with it???

·
03 FLHTCUI
375 Posts
I've got an "03 Ultra, with a Trike conversion, and don't think I have seen the volt meter off of 15 volts for the 26,000 miles I've put on it. Oh, yes I did. Last winter I had the electric gloves, liner and socks on, all the lights running, the radio on and I was sitting in the drive way warming up the bike, and at idle it dropped down to 13 volts. Must be the guage, but I never have had a problem.

Ride Safe.
Walt

·
Registered
4,820 Posts
inconsistent voltmeters

I'd say that every bike with a voltmeter seems to have its own reading. It is as if the voltmeters are just there and generally it is inaccurate. I have two bikes, both twin cam glide's: one reads closer to 15.5 volts and the other 13.5 volts. A fly-and-ride I rode for two weeks read 14 volts. Why are the different? Who knows!

To me the voltmeter has only two values: one if it reads lower than 12 volts you got a problem; if it is not constant at its reading you got a problem. But what voltage it reads when everything is normal is bike dependent.

·
03 Heritage
491 Posts