V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Newbie here so please be gentle with me!

Last wednesday I rode my 1st ever Harley, after over 20 years riding bikes - it was my birthday so my wife and I decided to hire one for a day from Warr's in London. Had an FXDL Low Rider for 24 hours. Being a bit unsure of whether I'd like it but always keeping an open mind, we headed out into the London traffic. For the 1st hour I have to be honest and say I didn't like it much at all. However, once I'd heeded the advice of a Fat Boy-owning friend and got in the bike's 'groove' I had a ball! I loved it! I can now see what all the fuss is about. Following day the bike had to go back (sadly) but on talking to the Warr's sales guys (v helpful) we were given an FXDX to play on for the rest of the day - this had Stage I kit and made a noticable difference to the motor - much more responsive and smoother too.

Now (you can wake up now) to my quesiton: I really LOVE the look of the Sportsters - the 1200S particularly - but am a bit concerned about the solid-mounted motor. What are they like to own? I'm hoping to get a demo on one this week but would really appreciate any input from you guys out there with the experience. One of the big problems with the Twin Cams is the insurance - it's damned expensice where I live. The 1200 would be much more reasonable.

Thanks for any info . :)

Richard.

·
Registered
8,786 Posts
Love my Sporty too but I'm in the market for a Dyna WideGlide so my Bride can ride with me (either on back or on the Sporty herself). I would say that we are in the combined range of about 350 pounds. Thats a lot of weight on a Sporty. Go bigger if you plan to ride together. Good luck and definetly WELCOME to Harley-Davidson.:D

·
Just Like to Ride
3,242 Posts