V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 1883 Posts

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all.

The stated idea of this post(I hope to be a sticky) is to have a place here to exchange Ideas and advice on the Vance & Hines Fuelpak.
Now, I know that many here have some strong opinions on the fuelpak, and if you don't care for it, and you prefer another system, then good for you, and please move along, we in the post are going to try and help and advice those of us that have chosen to use this system, and unhelpful post will be asked to have removed.
So, please. lets all use this as a resource to help other and ourselves with this simple to use system.
Exchanging program Ideas and experiences.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
Thunderheader True duel

I put the new Thunderheader true duels on my son's 07 Street glide, with Ness Big Sucker A/C, the
V&H fuelpak map is FP-0543 however this map made the bike stumble just off idle (stop sign take off) V&h e-mailed me back with changes.
Mode 1change to 4 -- mode 2 to 3 --- mode 3 to 6 then verify mode 19 throttle position. Maybe someone can use this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,176 Posts
I was running map FP-0416 on an 06 FLTHCI w/ Ness Big Sucker and Wildpigs w/ 1.75 baffles. I was getting a very slight decel pop. When I inquired about getting some help with that, V&H offered to upgrade my firmware to V12 for $29.95.

Since I was already going to the ThunderMax AT, I elected not to go there. However, they did eventually suggest I tweak cells 1-4 up to 6 to cure the problem. Never got to do this, but I figure it might provide some insight to anyone else with a similar issue.
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Hi all.

Well Tonight I got to install my Vance & Hines Pro pipe, K&N air filter system and of course the Fuelpak.

Note: The screws for the mounting bracket are too long, trim the tip, 1/16th of an Inch to help make it a bit smoother to install.

It took like three hours start to finish to remove the stock parts and install the new stuff and program.
Once i learned to trim the screws, all went just as they advertised.

I took the bike out for a 40 mile test ride, all in all, it runs fairly well, I only got a couple pop's on the 1-2 shift, but I needed to manipulate it to get it too do it.
No surging, no poor running Issues. All in all, it runs smoother and with more power, so I is a happy camper for now.

I am going to take this bike in a couple weeks down to my dealer for a dyno run, to check to make sure it is running as it should, and i will get to know how to adjust these windows, but i don't think at this point mine needs any adjusting.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Fuelpak

yea...screws too long from spider bracket to fuelpak (#1 phillips head is bad idea). Factory ECU box mounting screws glued into thread insert, stripped when tried to remove, could'nt get out (used some creative mounting techniques).
Other than that works good, sounds good, little more power.................

"03 RK Classic TC 88
SE perf. Air filter (K&N)
Stage 1
V&H Dresser Duals
V&H Basic Slip-ons
Fuelpak
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
78 Posts
What setting number???

First off this is what I have. It's a 2007 police Road King (103") with V&H slip-ons (#16725), SE stage 1 intake, and the V&H fuel pack (v12). I was told by HD to run setting FP-0520 which ran fine but the engine seemed to run REAL hot; specifically the rear jug I called V&H and they suggested setting FP-0544 which is for the SE 103" motor with the same slip-ons. V&H told me that they don't have a specific police 103" tune yet and that this one will work for now. I also found another tune on the V&H web site for the same motor running true duals...I wonder if this tune would work with the slip-ons or would it be too rich? Here are the numbers for the FP-0544 versus the other 103" tune starting at #1....can anyone deciper what the differences are?

3/0, 0/0, 4/0, 11/0, 0/12, 12/18, -4/4, -4/10, 0/4, 7/6, -10/-2, -2/4, 10/15, 15/10, 0/-3, 0/1, 0/0, 0/0,
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
2007FLHP said:
First off this is what I have. It's a 2007 police Road King (103") with V&H slip-ons (#16725), SE stage 1 intake, and the V&H fuel pack (v12). I was told by HD to run setting FP-0520 which ran fine but the engine seemed to run REAL hot; specifically the rear jug I called V&H and they suggested setting FP-0544 which is for the SE 103" motor with the same slip-ons. V&H told me that they don't have a specific police 103" tune yet and that this one will work for now. I also found another tune on the V&H web site for the same motor running true duals...I wonder if this tune would work with the slip-ons or would it be too rich? Here are the numbers for the FP-0544 versus the other 103" tune starting at #1....can anyone deciper what the differences are?

3/0, 0/0, 4/0, 11/0, 0/12, 12/18, -4/4, -4/10, 0/4, 7/6, -10/-2, -2/4, 10/15, 15/10, 0/-3, 0/1, 0/0, 0/0,

What I would suggest is to have a Dyno run done(The standard power and cruise runs) and send it to Vance and Hines, if it's out of whack.
They should be able to adjust the program for your bike, but they will need to know all the particulares, air filter pipes and any mods.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Maybe if everyone could post information from calling V&H concerning fine tuning the FuelPak, we can figure out what modes do what.

When I had my Propipe, they told me to adjust *decrease* modes 3 & 4 to reduce decell popping. I'd guess that would work for all pipes?

I now have BSS and called about adding fuel to the cruise speeds of 60-70Mph and they said *increase* modes 11 & 12 to add fuel in that area of speed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Fuelpak Adjustments?

03 FLHRC- after fuelpak installed, complaint to V&H was loss of power when throttle let off...almost like a compression release for several seconds (very lean maybe?)...they had me set mode 23 to 50 (it was orig. 16 per spec. settings for my set up) and recalibrate throttle at mode 19. I did so and it solved problem.
I have tried to find out what the modes control but they won't say...runs good so I hate to mess with it without knowing. Big secret I guess...
Anybody tried to adjust Fuelpak while on dyno tuner? Billion combos?
Originally switched to V&H because SE muffler on left started rattling inside (rusted out probably) but HD doesn't sell them anymore. That was disappointing (orig. set up was working good) oh well...

V&H dresser duals/ basic SOs/fuelpak
stage 1
perf. A/C
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Vance and Hines is trying to get CARB approval for this system, and letting the customer adjust it blindly is not what CARB wants.

As it has ben told to me by Scott, the cells are RPM vs Throttle position (In it's basic form) so to adjust it right, they need to know what it's doing.

i did this by having a basic two run dynoing done on mine, it showed a good full throttle run., but a lean part on part throttle.

It is best to ask the dyno tech to record temperature of the engine and the amount of throttle the Issue was found at.

With this, the Nice people at V&H sent me a custom fuel map for my bike.

The bike is running the best it ever.:woohoo:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
FNG :) Blind Adjustment

The marketing for the device rather misleading..."just punch in the numbers and off you go" doesn't work quite that easy if you expect it to be in perfect or at least near perfect tune. And to think that you have to keep calling tech for mode changes that may or may not work...that seems rather blind, not to mention, time consuming.The customers are wanting to know what the modes control so that we don't have to adjust in the blind.
Avoiding the costs of dyno tuning is the whole idea...do it yourself and per their marketing, "you are a genius".
Shame on me for not doing a little more research to get a controller that alows more fine tuning capabilities.
I still think it's a good product if I had more info and maybe understood the throttle position concept a little better.
Is there some thought that once CARB approves the device it will somehow be better? Guess I don't know that whole CARB approval deal either.
Don't mean to sound sarcastic just a little anoyed that SE mufflers weren't replaceable and spent relatively large $ on what I thought was major upgrade and now I'm nopt sure it is. Am I a genius, my dog thinks so.
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)
I have suggested to them that they make a CD program so that dyno tune techs can dial it in for a customer.

The rumor is that the SERT is going away, if it does, this will leave most dealers with a dyno and no way to tune in the bike.
The Power commander would be the most logical replacement for the SERT, but since it does not use the O2's, disabling a control device is a big no no.

You have to understand that no two engine are the same, they will be close, so the engine they have at Vance and Hines may flow less then yours, or maybe you are using a different air filter the the SE one V&H used(This was my case) or a hundred other things, that is why I suggest if you have a Issue, get a standard dyno run with temps and throttle openings and send it to V&H, they can correct the program to your bikes needs.

Bottom line is, it is still far cheaper then 450 for a SERT and 2-4 hundred to have it dialed in.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
22 Posts
Just live with it I guess

I have a 07FLHRC with V&H Big Shots true duals , SE AC and FuelPak . The bike seems to run good,buttttt on decel it pops at 0 throttle. I called V&H and they said change 23 to 50 just like others have said and it help a lot but still enough to be annoying I have changed my exhaust gaskets also. Just fussing.
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
curlyd said:
I have a 07FLHRC with V&H Big Shots true duals , SE AC and FuelPak . The bike seems to run good,buttttt on decel it pops at 0 throttle. I called V&H and they said change 23 to 50 just like others have said and it help a lot but still enough to be annoying I have changed my exhaust gaskets also. Just fussing.
Hi.

If you have a standard two run dyno run, and send V&H the results, they can run it through there computer and fine tune it in.:wootdnc:
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Called on the 2008 models.....

Hi all.

My boss just got a new bike, a 2008 Ultra in the new candy red pearl, really beautiful bike.

Anyway, he asked so I called V&H about a FuelPak for a 2008. The New Ultra is using a throttle by wire, that is, and electric throttle body.
I talked with Adam and he said that the 2008 FuelPak should be available in 3 to 4 weeks.

It sounds to me to be a quick release for a new computer and all, but I guess Harley and they have a good working relationship, so i hope this it true.

I am passing this along to you who maybe looking at a fuel controller for your new 2008.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,464 Posts
Jeffytune said:
that is why I suggest if you have a Issue, get a standard dyno run with temps and throttle openings and send it to V&H, they can correct the program to your bikes needs.
Are the temps and throttle openings something you get with a dyno run??? Or is it something you have to request??? I have zero experience with dyno runs. There is a dealership around here that does $20 runs a couple of times a year. I am getting ready to get a fuelpak and like the idea that I can have my settings fine tuned.
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Monstermile said:
Are the temps and throttle openings something you get with a dyno run??? Or is it something you have to request??? I have zero experience with dyno runs. There is a dealership around here that does $20 runs a couple of times a year. I am getting ready to get a fuelpak and like the idea that I can have my settings fine tuned.
It is something you need to ask the tech for, usually, they can do this without and problem.

The more Info you can give them, the better they can dial it in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,464 Posts
Jeffytune said:
It is something you need to ask the tech for, usually, they can do this without and problem.

The more Info you can give them, the better they can dial it in.
Is there any other info I could ask for that would help in getting a better fine-tune???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
you are a genius

{salute( V&H marketing "you are a genius"...doesn;t seem like a whole lot of genius' are posting on this one except Jeffytune. If I had to guess, i'd say jeffytune must be on V&H payroll.......just sayin'
I really don't think it's a bad product, just wish there was more info....
 

·
HATER OF THE GRAVEL!!!!!!
Joined
·
5,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #20 (Edited)
chromedome88 said:
{salute( V&H marketing "you are a genius"...doesn;t seem like a whole lot of genius' are posting on this one except Jeffytune. If I had to guess, i'd say jeffytune must be on V&H payroll.......just sayin'
I really don't think it's a bad product, just wish there was more info....
Once again, I do not work for or have an affiliation with Vance and Hines, I just like there products and am trying to help others if there is an Issue.

I have ben doing automotive FI for 30 years, and Delphi (GM) makes Harley set-up, so I know the system to point.

The Point you make is a good one, and in most cases, the program the booklet has work just fine, it's when it has an Issue that I can help you use these steps to help them help you.
 
1 - 20 of 1883 Posts
Top