V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up everybody, newbie here, Ratboy from Orange County California. Just picked up a 92 FXR daily driver, put about 4k miles on it blowing some white smoke. took the pipes off to replace a broke stud (that was a series pain in the ass) when the pipes were off I could see oil oozing down from the valve guide on one cylinder. For me I need the bike to get to work and back for a while I don't see any problem running it with a bit of oil burning. bike runs good plugs are clean still. how long can I go before I need to do the top end?

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
Valve Guide Seal...Guide should still be OK... But yea... pull heads... not a big deal really... or like me... just Ride it till it actually causes problems... should not Smoke once warmed up!!!

·
Registered
2,198 Posts
Once you pull the head I'm gonna bet you need valves (worn stems), guides&seals and possibly a valve seat grind.
and then at that point you might as well do springs too. and while that's being done new rings and a quick measurement to OK just a light ball hone ,if necessary, on cyl.'s. and a new gasket set & head bolts. Better take a quick glance at the oil breather gear and replace if damaged. Those ign. sensors (nose cone) seem to get melty, take a quick look, might as well stick some adj. pushrods in there for ease. and maybe take a peek at the lifters for scoring. and........
Oh hell, just take it all apart in the living room.

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
^^^ And yet my '93 E-Motor is working quite well without all that BS... Thank You
No way Anyone can replace either valves .. nor especially guides without a real Valve job...
and No reason to disturb the Jugs/pistons to do the heads.. Finally... I never understood Adjustable pushrods if the heads are Off!!!!!
Now Lifters?? I have heard they are not a long Lived Item!!! But again... some of us must learn the hard way...
ie Ride the Damn Thing....

·
Registered