V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Harley world so please excuse my limited experience and request for help.

There was a thread started my me on quieting a Thunderheader system on my 98 FXD and from that plus some experimenting I concluded it was a non-starter. Soooo - I have replaced the Thunderheader system with a White Brothers 2 into 1 e-series tunable system. Now my question is how do I go about tuning it? The 98 FXD has a Crane cam, SE Breather kit and the White Bros. exhaust. The previous owner had the dealer re-jet the system for the Thunderheader/cam/breather setup, but I do not know the jet size used. My experience with the Thunderheader was that the bike was rather cold blooded for a while after starting even with the enricher on full. It smoothed out after a couple of miles of warmup. Now with the White Bros system, it was even more cold blooded (almost impossible to drive in traffic) with the full open set of baffles (12) that came installed on the muffler. When I reduced it back to 5 (4 being the minium recommended in the literature that came with the pipes), it was very smoothe when cold and pulled from low RPM rather nicely. I am assuming that it is showing signs of over rich mixture because of this. As soon as it warms up outside a bit I plan to play with the number of baffles (i.e. exhaust opening size) but am not too sure how to judge when I get it right. Any advice would be appreciated.

Also if anyone wants a black Thunderheader system, please let me know.

Stan

·
FXR
117 Posts