V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Restless
1,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone know why aftermarket motorcycle engines and trannys are so expensive? I have a hard time understanding why some aftermarket engines are so costly 4-6-7-8 K! Ya just wonder what makes such a little package so expensive. And transmissions you see ranging from 1500-2800 k. Is it because they are not produced on such a large scale? Or mainly it's just because the market is limited and they charge what they charge because they can?

For those that know I'm an ambulance mechanic full time. I buy reman Ford E40Ds and 4R100 trannys from Jasper for about 2100 bucks. The transmissions are 10 times the size, have 10 times the parts yet are just as expensive as a lil' motorcycle tranny from HD or Baker.

On the engine side, a reman Ford Powerstroke 7.3 running complete engine goes for around 6k. It's 4 or 5 times the size has many more expensive components than a S&S or HD engine, yet these bike engines cost just as much.

I just don't get it. Just like I don't get why alot of people in the industry call motorcycle engines "motors". A "motor" is something that draws energy, like a vacuum or washing machine. An "engine" is something that produces energy by the process of internal combustion through a fuel source.

Oh well, titt for tat I guess. Just thought I'd ask. It's raining, getting cold and can't ride today.:yawn:

·
IronButt
6,364 Posts
Well not sure that I am 100% on this but I would think some of the pricing is based on demand , volume, and where it was built I can get 6 Speed kits for 799 or 2199 all depends on where and who built it. Buying a 6 speed that was made over sea's is less than buying a jims or Baker trans. How many E4OD' trans that are out there?? No compare that too the amount of hd that want a new 6 speed trans or a complete new engine?? I could be way off on this.

·
Premium Member
947 Posts
Because its a "Recreational Activity" :whistle: