V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I have an 08 street bob. I am new to harleys but not bikes. Anyways there is about a 1/4 inch gap between the top of the triple tree and the neck. Is this normal. It seems to be handling ok however on these washboard roads I can feel a slight bang and it sounds like metal smacking metal. If there is someone out there with the same bike would do me a huge favour and just have a look at theirs. Right at the top where neck and triple tree meet. It would give me some piece of mind. I tend to ride this bike 100 mph and would hate to find out the hard way that there is a problem. And also,I had to replace the front wheel bearing on the stock 19" spoked wheel. The bike has 18000 kms. What gives. I hope this isn't the norm for harleys. I put 40000 kms on my 1100 v-star and the only work it needed was oil changes and tires. But the v-star didn't give me the feeling inside the Harley does. These bike have a soul,a personality. Thanks for reading. Any help is appreciated and if I can give reps I will for each answer given. Thanks again. Keep er in the wind.

Everett

·
Registered
80 Posts