V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As painful as it may seem, you need to retain an attorney to settle the issue brought by the Harley-Davidson Motor Company regarding the use of their trademarked name.

Nearly all attorneys will advise to settle out of court. Otherwise, no one is going to win without putting up $100,000 or more as a retainer for a federal court appearance.

I am an administrator on other forums and know first hand that most forums which choose to fashion their forum name after a federal trademark can usually get away with it by making a small modification to their final domain. The key word can be either "talk" or "fan" or "owners".

In this case, you have a right to own and maintain the domain name (unless the governing internet body deems to take it away from you for future trademark violations) as HarleyDavidsonForum.com .

In the past when a settlement is agreed upon, anyone clicking on HarleyDavidsonForum.com will be directed to a page which can give the person a choice:

Click Here to go to HarleyDavidsonTalk.com (Forum Discussions from owners worldwide)

Click Here to go to HarleyDavidson.com

-----

My suggestion is to start thinking of a modified name for the forums. Post a POLL for your members to help.

-----

History:

My background for these issues is largely in the entertainment forums and how the studios have won. Warner Brothers Studios won a similar agreement when they established that even though anyone can have the right to own a domain with their trademark, such as warnerbrothersforum.com , they do not have the right to use it in such a manner that it "may" represent endorsement by the studio. In the end, they established their own forums and moderators.