V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone update me about the chain driven cam on these engines , how much of a weak spot is this? I understand that there is a gear drive upgrade not sure if MOCO offers or aftermarket (S&S or others). How big a job is it to switch to a gear drive , and what is the cost? I rode *** bikes for years and the cam chain can get quite noisey. I would assume a gear drive world eliminate some engine noise as well!!

·
Registered
4,089 Posts
I'm no expert but this link will give you an idea of the work involved.
Click HERE

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks HarleyHog I was looking at the link on your post!! Just what I was looking for!!!

Great info!!!

·
Premium Member
1,552 Posts
H-D does not offer gear drive cams at this time. However S&S and I beleive Andrews do. So far as the better of the two drive set-ups are concerned, this subject has been beat to death. I chose to use the SE 257 cams in my build since they were spec'd. along with complimenting SE go fast goodies. Donny Peterson of Heavy Duty Cycles and American Iron fame has run the chain drive cams in the ground since day one. Funny how the Small and Big Block Chevys have been running a chain drive system for decades with no problems. My 5.4 SC Triton in my Lightning has cam chains as long as my legs and it among thousands of others out there don't seem to have any timing issues as Mr. Peterson so implies the Twin Cams have.

Unless you need to wring every last pony out of your engine the chain drive cams will do just fine.

SS

·
IronButt
6,364 Posts