V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
873 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at a .44 mag Taurus Tracker, 4" barrel.

Anyone used this gun, or any other taurus? I have no experience with them, just looking for opinions. I was also considering either a redhawk or blackhawk, or a Smith (625, 629?). But I found a brand new tracker for $399, and I like the way it looks and feels. How does it work?

Thanks guys.

·
Knower of Stuff
1,978 Posts
Never been a Taurus fan. There workmanship used to suck and the metal was not always top quality. Mind you that was 15 years ago, do not know about today, I stopped looking at them. Ruger and Smith both make an excellent gun. In the 44 mag, I like the Ruger, very solid gun.
p.s. Taurus used to be a cheap copy of the S&W made in Brazil.

·
Banned
873 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
FXDRYDR said:
For revolvers, suggest in order:

1. - Smith or Colt
2. - Ruger
I've been searching for Colt pistols and can't find anything. The only stuff on Colt's web site is military and LE. What's up with that?

So come one guys, tell me what you think the best .44 mag is.

·
Registered
9,250 Posts
Homar,

Colt caved to pressure form the antis and the Clinton administration and lost its way in the marketplace. Sales suffered, there's some distress and they cut their product offerings - in a nutshell. One can only hope that fine, old name will make its way back.

You'll have to find a good used Colt - and there are plenty out there. Both Colt and S&W quality and performance are outstanding. They're a cut above Ruger and maybe two above Taurus and anyone else IMHO.

I've owned a Ruger Redhawk 7 5/8"and liked it alot. It shot well, was robust and I really like the basic design. Simple. Easy to detail strip and reassemble. It's a big piece. My only gripe is that it's got a cast frame and I prefer forged/machined - and for me, that's a big issue. The Ruger is also a big pistola.