V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody have or have experience with the Judge? Thinking about buying one in 3" Magnum, probably a lightweight. What is the range or pattern/spread of the shot shell? Anybody shoot slugs? Are these rated for +p loads in the .45LC caliber? You only get 5 shots, and the .45LC isn't much of a performer anyway so are these just a play toy? Any troubles/ warranty issues? TIMINATOR

·
The Best Me I Can Be
22,357 Posts
From what I've read, the Governor is a superior gun, but I have no personal knowledge.

joe

·
Registered
1,597 Posts
It's more of a novelty. If I lived in an apartment I would use it as the first weapon of choice. The .410 rounds would not penetrate the walls into an adjacent room. But, with the short barrel the 410 will not stop anyone. All you can hope for is that it changes their mind.

That being said, I keep 410 in the first two holes and .45 in the others. In case their mind doesn't change.

·
Registered
93 Posts
The Judge makes a handy home defense or car revolver, there are loads made especially for the Judge that can do a lot of damage.

The unusual shape makes it difficult and uncomfortable to carry concealed. Plus P in .45 LC is around 1100 FPS and over 400 lbs of energy, nothing to ignore. The pistol is not a scatter gun, to be effective with this revolver you must aim.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Back in the day, I had a Thompson Contender with the 10" .410/.45 LC barrel. It wasn't too bad, as I used it on doves, snakes and mice, but even with the 10" barrel it was under powered, so I chamber reamed it to 3" mag shells, it was better, but after shooting a 3" Judge, I remember why I sold it. I don't want to stake my life on a shotshell that has very little penetration even at 15 feet. Thanks guys! I watched the Hickok45 video and decided to stay with my S&W M&P .40. TIMINATOR

·
Registered
1,242 Posts