V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to the whole Harley/Biker lifestyle. Is there a purpose for the chain being on a biker wallet, or is it just to make it look cool ? Thanks !!

·
Premium Member
3,694 Posts
Today, the chain is an "accessory". At one time, when bikers slept on the ground/floor/where every they could, having your billfold "chained" was a necessity to avoid/reduce theft. Additionally, the chain was also helpful in a brawl. Now, it's mostly good for scratching your custom paint job.

I trust I fully answered your question.

·
Premium Member
11,928 Posts
the chain is good for catching on your upper shock mont and making yu fall over.

·
Premium Member
3,624 Posts
After your "unchained" wallet falls out on the road somewhere, you won't have to ask why people have chain drive wallets.

·
Registered
521 Posts
You might notice that some truck drivers also wear a wallet with a chain. it's always fun to be 500 miles away from home and reach for the wallet and it's gone. I lost my wallet in Houston once and some guy found it on the freeway. He finally got to me through my company using a credit card. I had left it on the bumper of the truck. By the way, it still had all the credit cards and $300 cash. If your wallet somehow comes out of your pocket on the road, chances are you'll never see it again.

·
Ridin' & Glidin'
2,116 Posts
Chain drive wallets and double clutching boots. ;)

Roads used to be a lot rougher and motorcycles did not ride like the living room sofa.
Chain drive wallets prevented your wallet from falling out of your pocket after doing a monkey butt trick

·
Ridin' & Glidin'
2,116 Posts
There used to be real needs for chain drive wallets but like so many other things it became co-opted as a fashion statement by the baggy pants gangsta-wannabees. :coffee:

·
Doing time, behind bars!
1,480 Posts
how's your memory?

GrayRider said:
LOL. I had that problem years ago.