V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2006 FLHTCUI with 1200 miles. 1000 service done, put Redline Heavy Duty Shock proof in transmission. Primary chain is adjusted properly.

Ever since new this bike has shifted into neutral when going from 1st to 2nd gear (nearly every time). Goes into 2nd okay once in neutral but makes for a tough ride. I was hoping it would break in and cure itself but it hasn't happened yet.

Any ideas of what the problem might be?

I'm not a newbie, this is my 5th Harley.

Thanks in advance,

Mr.Clean

·
DHARMA Initiative
5,678 Posts
Sounds like your not shifting with your heel hard enough. :huh:

·
Premium Member
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's kind of why I stated that I've had several HD's...this one shifts differently and sticks in neutral unless you "snap" it with more force than normal into 2nd.

It doesn't go through neutral and into 2nd...it goes into neutral then you can shift again to go into 2nd.

Maybe I'll put a little lapping compond in the tranny.

·
DHARMA Initiative
5,678 Posts
Mr.Clean said:
Maybe I'll put a little lapping compond in the tranny.
Yea, that'll cure it. :duh?: Not sure though, wonder if the shifting forks or the drum is out of wack?

·
Wandering Child
632 Posts
If you are pretty sure it's not a case of shifting too lightly, then I would take it back too.

One thing you may want to do is adjust the postion of the heel/toe shifter. The way mine was set up was very poor and didn't fit me at all. I had a rough time finding neutral. I adjusted the shifter position and the problem went away.

·
Premium Member
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
I understand what you're saying about the heel shifter. Although I don't use it, if it's too close to the board it could prohibit a full cycle of the shifter. It does seem a little low, I'll move it up a notch and try it.

Thanks guys!

·
Wandering Child
632 Posts
Mr.Clean said: