V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to the Fuel Injected cycle scene. I installed a stage 2 kit on my carbed Heritage Springer last year and had great gains.

My question is what do I need to do with a fuel injected bike to get the power up another 15 hp without tearing out the jugs? Is there any sites that detail a Stage 1 and 2 set-up and how to go about it? What gains to expect? Should I get a power commander?

Thanks for any help.

·
Infidel
6,331 Posts
Traceman,

I think Stage I gets you 10 hp. Obviously, you know that Stage I is a EFI breather kit, less restrictive pipes and a reflash of your ECM.

Instead of a PCIII, you should look at the SE EFI race tuner. The SE tuner comes will all standard HD reflashes AND allows you to tweak your set up.

tsuter and hippo could add much more about the EFI tuner.

regards,

wyo

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was thinking of a cam change, breather and pipes.

I was looking at Chicago Harley and ran the 95" kit part number and it was only $640. I really hate to pay the dealer at least that much more to do something like this. Is this something the average do it yourselfer can do? Maybe I am in too big of a hurry to mess up a brand new bike.

I know I will need a manual and a inch/pound torque wrench. What other special tools would be required?

If anyone has some insight or links into this subject I would appreciate it. I just know I am a power junkie. The Springer I had was a real slug with my big ass on it untill I installed the cam and pipes on it.

Thanks

·
Registered
584 Posts
Hey, Traceman. Is that 640.00 for just the 95" kit or is labor included? Thanks. J.T.

·
EvilMonger
8,793 Posts
Traceman, sorry about that, kind of a joke from the other site, you should have no problems. It is kind of expensive to change EFI to carb anyway.

·
Registered
276 Posts