V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm still relatively new to the VTF and have been pleased with the help I have received so far.

I'm not new to riding; had a Yamaha Enduro 20 years ago and learned how NOT to ride. Later got a Yamaha 400 Thumper and learned how to ride on the street. Finally got wise, bought a REAL bike this past September. It's a 2000 883 XLH and it had only 1400 miles on it after 2 owners. So far, I've put 1700 miles on it and have enjoyed the ride, sound, and the general pleasure of owning a Harley-Davidson.

I'm already working on the 883 - 1200 conversion. I'm boring out a used set of 883 cylinders and will have them matched to 9.5:1 Wiseco pistons by the local Indy. After talking with the owner, he got me straight on getting XL heads and N4 cams so I'm now looking for those. Hopefully, by March or April I'll have the work done.

Thanks for the help you have given me. I hope to repay the favor.
Turn your head and Ride Safe.
Curt

·
Registered
15 Posts
Awll Right!!!

Hey Sportynube,
?prty: :welcome: Man, it's good to hear from you and welcome to VTF. I'm in the process right now on my conversion. I've got a 2005 XL 883 C that's going to 1200, too. Wiseco 10-1 pistons, light port and polish and 1200 valves with Andrews double springs in the heads, Andrews N4 cam (very popular cam), Crane H4 single fire ignition, Thunder header 2 into 1, some CV tricks done by Jeremy at Competition Motorcycles(doing the conversion for me). I'm getting custom paint and a seat from Bar Enterprizes, too, so it's a major deal. Any idea what h.p. you were putting out before and what you'll be getting after? :woohoo:

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
crazyfrog,