V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to the the board, but I have a question about the speedo/tach on my '05 Road King Classic.

I had the original speedo changed out for the speedo/tach combo & this is the third one that has gotten moisture inside the unit, so much so that it leaves a water line. The dealership has replaced it each time..

My question is WHY IS THIS HAPPENING??? I have had two other bikes, a Yamaha & Vulcan Drifter & nNEVER had this problem..Is this a issue unique only to Harleys???? At almost $450, this is a sealed unit & should NOT get moisture inside..

Any opinions/advice is GLADLY WELCOME..

Thanks in advance,

Rich

·
Ironbutt
7,412 Posts
rwtflyfish said:
Hi,
At almost $450, this is a sealed unit & should NOT get moisture inside..
Rich
I agree. Keep taking it back until they give you a good unit. At this point i'd make sure a company rep is involved. Sounds like there is a quality control issue on these items.

·
Registered
107 Posts
I've had an 03, 04, and an 06 HD. Everyone of em has had moisture or condensation under the tach or speedo. From discussions I have seen on this subject, you are in the minority if you don't have the moisture. Not saying its right or it should happen............ just that its pretty common.

·
Premium octane member
7,381 Posts
i have moisture in my fuel and air temp gauges. I replaced them once already, now i just deal with it. If you look in the touring section, there are many threads about this.....One of the little H-D quirks that we live with on out 20K macines..

·
Registered
529 Posts
This is not right. I bought a new Low Rider in 1985 and never had this kind of problem with it. I thought the MoCo cared about quality.:unsure:

·
Premium Member
478 Posts
I have an 04 Flhr and I get some condensation in the speedometer almost everytime after I wash the bike, or get caught in heavy rain. The condensation usually clears after a day or two.

·