V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I guess it’s about time to introduce myself as well, sorry for not doing this earlier but just had found this form and enjoyed posting and had a few questions. And I finally read the description and wanted to formally introduce myself.

I am the typical aged Harley owner, at 45. I started riding back in the early 70’s in the fields and empty space that we once had in Northern VA. My first bike was a cCL100 Honda, (mix between street and off road), then got an SL350, (it was a pig in the dirt too heavy). Sold both when I went to college, once I was released and join the working world I ran across a good deal on a ’75 Kawasaki 900 Z1-B, which was my first street bike and was one fast bike , rode that for about 10 years. Then got into cars and sold the bike. Even though I am still into cars I decided about 5 years ago that I wanted a Harley. So I was finally was able to talk the wife into it, and she gave in said I could get one.

I rented and test rode both a Night Train and a Wide Glide and had decided to go with the Wide Glide, both were real nice but the Wide Glide appealed to me more. I was told by a good friend who had started on a Sporty and now has a Dresser that I should go for fuel injection because it was a lot easier to live with and you don’t have to worry about a choke. I also wanted dual front calipers, since I have been involved in Sports Car racing that is one think I think you can’t have enough of is brakes. So looking at the Dyan and waiting for fuel injection to come along Harley announced this new bike they were going to make call the V-Rod. Looking at the specs it looked real good, a lot of what I wanted and that I won’t have to pay extra to get it. Also after getting the accessories catalog I had 3 pages of extras I was planning on if I got the Dyna, which somewhat concerned the wife; something about being able to eat, you know.