V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Your oppinions please

After installing baffled slip on's, I noticed that the engine started to backfire while de-excelerating.

I was under the impression, that this is going to be solved after installing a stage one kit, what I got done this weekend by a Harley dealer - including flash upgrade.

Nothing basically changed - still massive backfire and no significant gain of power.

I checked the header gaskets to make sure they don't suck air - they seem to be ok.

Is this normal? Could it be that the dealer forgot the flash upgrade?

I also notice that the right pipe get's much hotter, than the left one. The inside of the right one is covered with black "dust" the left one is still clean.

As you already noticed, I'm new with Harleys - this is my first one - so I apologize for probably stupid questions.

Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
2,042 Posts
I was originally going to tell you to check for a leak, but it almost sounds like you are having bigger problems than that...

Take it back to the Stealer and get it right!

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
Most all exhaust is out the right side
Popping on decell is normal to some degree not massive or from low rpms. Take it back to the guys that did the work ,nicely complane & make sure they test drive it.

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Talked to the dealer today. As expected, he tries to convice me, that my non HD pipes are the reason for the back fire.

He recomended to buy a set of SE pipes this would solve the problem.

And now?

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
One of two things. He knows they did not tune your bike right & will correct the problem apond fleacing you out of greens for the new pipes.
They change the pipes and it still pops, just not nearly as bad and then they say "thats normal".