V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know if it ok to run slick 50 in a twin cam roadking EFI.??
I have used it in other cars and things but never tried it in a bike. I am a witness to this stuff working.
please email me with comments.
[email protected]

·
FOG
6,970 Posts
While I'm no mechanical genius, the folks who are invariably recommend H-D oil or one of the V-twin synthetics. I can't imagine what Slick 50 would do for....or to....an air-cooled V-twin. I'd personally never use it.

·
Registered
104 Posts
There is a publication called "Nutz And Boltz" much like the Motorcycle Consumer News that years ago did some tests with Slick 50 and PTFE stuff. Apparently there is a temperature issue where that stuff could very easily just sit in the oil pump or journals and block oil flow to the rest of the engine. Oil companies say not to add anything to their oils and I tend to believe that.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I, like you, am looking to "baby" my twin cam to get the longest life out of it. I have done a load of reading on line and off and have decided to switch to synthetic oil. I just added it for my 5000 mile service and as soon as this horrible winter weather clears, I'll be posting my initial results, ie: increased mileage, smoother starts, etc.

·
Longtime Asphalt Cowboy
3,291 Posts
There have been several publications over the years about NOT using Slick50 or other such products in a Harley. The one point that all of them brought out was the fact that the rod bearings would slide and not turn as designed. Slick50 and such products are made for babbitt/insert type bearings and not roller bearings. My opinion, don't use it.

Happy riding !!!

·
Registered
561 Posts
Slick 50 is Marketing Bunk!!

To make Teflon bond to metal, it must be baked on at over 500 f. in a laboratory, not mixed & bathed in oil at 210 f.