V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Banned
2,735 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few of us were sitting at the American Legion getting ready to take a weekday ride to get something to eat. Everyone was cranked up and ready to go. One of the guys puts his bagger in gear, let's out the clutch, and the drive belt falls off...BROKE. Just so happens the dealer put on a new rear tire just LAST WEEK. Now, if I was a service manager I would find out who did the work and I would make his ass stay and fix that bike..regardless of how late. The guy had to call a tow service and then find a ride home from the shop. On the phone they told him that they would get it fixed asap and then when he got there they told him about 5.5 hours of work. The tech must have gooned something up pretty bad. Thus..."stay your ass at work and FIX the customer's bike that YOU gooned up." Problem was...they didn't want to take that kind of responsibility. Told the CUSTOMER that they wouldn't have it ready until TUESDAY after the New Year weekend. I have heard many stories of dealer mechanics fukkin up a job and not knowing it until the customer has to bring it back because of either a leak or a noise. Damn..factory trained huh? Maybe they should adopt a policy of in-process and final inspections by an in-shop inspector. If I was fortunate enough to have my own business there would be some assurance that at least the mechanical part was performed correctly...with people signing off stating such.

Am I off base here or is shoddy maintenance the accepted norm when it comes to dealers?

Semper Fi,
Steve
USMC 1972 - 2003

·
Read Only
2006 Road King Classic
507 Posts
Are you sure that you really want the answer to that question?

Damn, just noticed that you were on the 31 year program.....Thanks ;)

·
1,336 Posts
Hey Steve,