V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Sub Par Member
769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know if this has happened to anyone else, but it had my heart rate going for a while.

Today I wanted to try a suggestion to tweak my ECM map, but I'd never really used my SERT software before. I had hooked it up once before just to see how it works and to make sure it could communicate with my bike....no problem.

Well, today I made a slight change to the map based on some info from HDMaps where I got the map originally. I made the change, even made an edit to the notes, and saved the map. So far, so good.

I grab my laptop and head to the garage where I proceed to hook everything up. I've done this once before, so I'm an old pro.

I bring up the program, open the map file, click on program ECM, and then get ECM info. VIN, ECM, and Cal ID numbers all come up...great, ready to go.

I light a cigarette, cross my fingers, and click on Program ECM Cal. Little blue bar starts moving, everything looks good, and "OH CRAP!" Error message loading bootstrap, program quitting, world coming to an end.

Everything locked up. Program quit. ECM Cal stuck on 25% and going nowhere. I figured okay, the program locked up, but it quit before anything happend. I try again to use the software to reload, hit get ECM info and get "Not Found" for VIN, ECM, and Cal ID. Crap! CRAP!! So I shut it down, wait a minute, and try to start my bike.

First thing I noticed was my fuel pump didn't whir on like it's supposed to. Silence, along with an absent pump light on the speedo. I'm pretty worried now, but get even more rattled when the bike won't even think about starting. My beautiful bike dead in the water, or in this case, in the middle of the garage. ECM hosed.

After a few anxious minutes of swearing, pacing around the garage, falling to my knees and praying to the Harley gods, I decided to try and read the help files.