V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Howdy

I wanted to introduce myself and tell a tad about myself. I started riding motorcycles when I was 10 (a little KX and moved up until I got older) and when I was 18 I got my first street bike a new (yet still crappy) 1993 Katana 6. Unfortunately I hit a deer going 85 with it and it was destroyed. I was lucky and only had one cut on my leg and a trashed bike and some rash on my leather jacket. I then worked and was able to buy a new 1994 ZX-7R when I went to college. I had that bike until I entered the Marines in 1996. After my first pump to Oki, I was cruising in Honolulu and I got a flat tire; luckily I was to be able to push it to a Harley/Kawi dealer which was a few blocks away (Cycle City HD). They made me an offer on my old bike and I upgraded to a new 1998 ZX-9R.

Unfortunately, that bike was stolen along with my friends new 6R one week later in front of a movie theater in Kaneohe. Insurance helped me got another 9R. A few years later I finished my term with the Marines as a 0321 Recon Marine and EASed. I got out and went back to college in Wyoming. Just before graduating with my B.A. I lucked out and got out of a 152/50 speeding ticket where the officer made me promise to never speed again like an idiot again. As I also have a very nice sports car I took it seriously and sold my sport bike the next week to a friend. I put that money into a "Harley Savings Account" and ordered and 2003 Fat Boy (my long time dream bike, which I believe will not speed as easily as my sport bike did).

I have been saving for about 6 months now and my bike finally arrived last week. So I am now the new owner of a 2003 Gun Metal Pearl Fat Boy with EFI. Sadly, the weather has been too bad to ride it so I have only been able to back it off the pickup and store it in the Garage. Hopefully spring comes soon and I will be able to get out and start riding again.