V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
fighting irish
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi folks, i gotta problem!,i ride a 1996 xl1200c, stage 1, progressive fork springs, and 8,400 miles on the clock, im a tech. in a motorcycle shop(not harley), and we got a 1999 dyna superglide sport with wide rear tyre conversion, stage 1, and 5000 miles on the clock,coming as a trade in tomorrow, the sales man says he'll sell me the bike for cost price if i want it!!.
how does the dyna sport compare to the sportster custom?...i would really like better brakes and handling as well as larger fuel tank and more comfort on long trips than the sportster gives me... is the dyna superglide sport the bike i need?..any advise would be really great. thanks, adrian.

·
Acquisitions
4,513 Posts
ask him if the cam bearings have been upgraded! I love my fxdx, the way it handles and stops good too! best overall handling bike harley has made. too bad they stopped making it in 05'. the rubber mounted motor makes for a great ride-very smooth and good for the long haul. i've got 36K on mine and still running strong. you did not mention exactly how much he was asking but my buddy bought a 2000 with 3500 on it with cams and vance and hines 2-1 pro pipes for 10K. I think you will be happy with the dyna super glide! keep us posted on your choice.

·
Registered
779 Posts
I've owned two Road Glides over the last 5 years, and just bought 2001 FXDX. The tires (or tyres, for our buds across the pond) are shot, so I haven't had the chance to really shake it out yet.

The few short rides I put on it left me grinning. So far, I really like this bike. Handles extremely well, comfortable ride and very sure footed. It's light and nimble, but solid at the same time, if that makes sense...

New Avons go on Friday, so I'm anxious to see what it will do, and tinker a bit with the adjustable suspension.

Good Luck on your decision!
Dan

·
Premium Member
31 Posts