V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Guitar Dude
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fellas, I've been using, and shame on me :hmmm: , Mobil 1 15w50, but when I visited the dealership yesterday, the guy at the parts counter recommended SE Synth. I think he said I can use it for the engine, chaincase, and transmission. Is this true, I can use it for everything, meaning the transmission too?

Also, what do you guys think of this stuff? Thanks.

·
Registered
493 Posts
You are supposed to be able to use it in all three holes. Guess that should be fine. I don't see a problem with Mobil 1 15-50 I use this. I also use Mobil 1 20-50. I won't use the SE oil. The SE stuff is actually a semi-synthetic. Not 100% like the Mobil 1

·
Guitar Dude
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, I always used Mobil 1 20w50 for the engine, so this is my first time with the SE stuff. It was cool to be able to use one oil for all three, but I guess you were doing that with M1.

The point of this thread was that I didn't know if I could use SE oil for the tranny too. I didn't want to make a mistake.

·
Registered
501 Posts
I also did research on this. Both Amsoil and Mobile 1 are better for the scoot. Although you will get arguements from the MoCo. "special additives for the seals". Are these special seals only used in Harleys? I'm using the mobile 1 and it is good for all 3 holes.

·
Guitar Dude
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks sblair, I didn't know you could use M1 for all three. I'll probably go back to it. Why throw money away?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Synthethic

Just had the 10K done on my DWG and put the SE synthetic in. Yes, it is formulated for all three holes. The main reason I changed from the regular oil is that the synthetic makes the engine run cooler- a valid concern here in the deep south.