V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,
I am a newbie, been riding for over a decade, since I was 18, but I never thought I would be a Harley rider. I am now. I just purchased a 2005 HD Springer Classic Injected. Love the bike, have only had it 1 week.
Now that winter is among us in the Northeast, It is time to get to the mods.
I love the look of have a pipe on each side. I have been reading through the archives looking for the wisdom I need. I also want the fishtail look on the ends. I am typically known for having the loudest bike in the group. I would like some music to be heard from my bike. I digress, let me get to the question. Two sides:
Pipes: I am leaning toward the Samson True Duals. My first question is can I get them basically straight pipes to a fish tail. I dont want any baffles. I understand that a little back pressure is good, but I cant restrict the true sound of a Harley. I am willing to sacrifice a little. I also plan on doing the air cleaner and all when I do this. I definitely want the true duals with fishtails, it is more a matter of finding some that are loud as all hell and good quality. I have been seeing everyone go with hookers, or rinehart. Do any of these have webpages, I have been searching with minimal success. Any of you fellow true dual riders have pictures of what your running, how you like them and also some noise wisdom on your pipes, please help a new harley guy land on his feet the first time out.
SERT: Being a mech myself, it sounds like the Screamin Eagle Race Tuner(SERT) is the way to go. I plan on plugging into a laptop. How painful is the process? Do I have to have Harley install it? Any negatives to the SERT?
Where is the best place to purchase one from?
Thanks for any possible wisdom you can provide. It is an honor to join the ranks.
Dodge the pendulum.
Thanks
Dave
Cape Cod, MA

·
Registered
6 Posts