V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,552 Posts
I'm running the Street Sweepers (similar style to Rip Saws) on my hi-comp 95" Dyna. They're loud as hell but sound sweet since this motor is built to rock. They'd be a little mellower on a stocker. Be sure to run torque cones in them since you'll need the back pressure. No baffles in those babies and 2 1/4" ID. Run an open element AC and rejet up one size from stock, remove the welsch plug, adj. the idle mixture and you're off!

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
2 questions.....what's a torque cone? I assume it's some kind of baffle so I don't lose as much low end torque? How does it install in the pipe?

Secondly, what's a welsch plug? I don't even have a guess for this one. Sorry if these are dumbass questions, but I'm still learning here. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,552 Posts
Not dumbass questions at all!

Torque cones or anti reversion cones are installed between the header and the exhaust port at the flange. They do impart some restriction to improve low end torque and help keep the turbulance from licking back into the exhaust port and disturbing the combustion event. They also help prevent bluing of the headers.

The welsch plug is the soft metal plug found behind the fuel bowl on the underside of your Keihin CV (constant velocity) carb. Once partially drilled through on center with a 1/8" bit and removed by inserting a sheet metal screw and pulling it out with a pair of pliers you can access the idle mixture screw.

Adjustment of the idle mixture is not mentioned in the service manual since they don't want you messing with the carbs at all due to EPA regs.
Once all other enhancements are made including rejetting, warm the engine to operating temp. and at an idle, gently seat the idle mixture screw then back it out until the engine begins to stumble, turn it back in 1/4 to 1/2 turn and you're good. Usually 1 1/2 to 3 turns out from lightly seated is in the ballpark.