V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a flyer from Woodstock Harley last night and they want $169.99 for the reduced effort clutch installed. The part is $49.99 in the 06 catalog. From some of the posts on this install it sounds like the install can be a bit of a PITA. My mechanical knowledge begins and ends with oil changes.

This seem reasonable?

Thanks

Dave

04 Carb FLHT Standard
Stage One Kit

·
Banned
5,329 Posts
Dave, Im not a mechanic but I see they put in a new clutch spring and inner/outer ramps. With that will come a trans oil change and clutch adjustment and a test ride. If the dealer gets $75 an hour your quoted price sounds like a fair deal if it includes the parts.

·
Highly Seasoned Rider!
4,884 Posts
That's not a bad price at all. On the FL's you really have to remove the entire exhaust system to do it right. It's very hard just to remove the front pipe with the engine still on its mounts.

You also have to remove the left floorboard to get at the primary. Only problem is they will likely charge you for new primary and transmission gaskets. That's not bad if they, in fact, do install them. I used mine over since they were perfect and they are not leaking.

I did the job a couple of months ago and it took me all of four hours. Good thing I'm not doing piecework somewhere.

H

·
0 Posts
I've done three of these now. My own motor, and two friend's. All three were on Road King Classics.

First, the improvement in the clutch is dramatic, and well worth it.