V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone shed some light on this subject? I have a 2003 FST that I love very much but have heard from many riders that the suspension design is junk ((Dyna riders)… To each is own) But thinking about it, most motorcycles suspension designs seem to move in an arc up towards the rear seat… If that is true I would also thing that the softail design is better since it has a lower center of gravity due to the shock location… I’m no expert on this so please enlighten me if I’m incorrect. This is all from observance and not from technical data…

Regards,
:unsure:

·
Premium Member
101 Posts
There is a lot of people that are anti softail I on the other hand find them to be no problem at all I've put over 500/mi per day several times and never had a problem with comfort you do get less shock travel bottom line as far as comfort is concerned if you got a 100/mi butt/back I dont care what you ride your gonna get a sore ASS so get what you like and :finger: everybody. and as for handling your rear end may be a little more stable with vertical shocks around corners, but with that said I don't have any problems blasting around corners/bends.

·
Registered
2,038 Posts
i had a deuce that i put 10k miles on in less than a year. loved it. moved up to a touring bike, but not because of the suspension, by any means.

don't worry about what dyna guys say, if you love it, ride it till it needs tires. put some on and do it again

·
I'm Paid Up...
1,732 Posts