V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, some of you experienced riders help me out here. I usually avoid riding in the rain when possible. I will be heading to Ruidoso NM. for the Aspencade Rally next week. I understand that it rains up there just about every afternoon. :( How do you folks handle rain? I have never been comfortable on those two small tires on wet roads.
Is there a magic speed? What is the best section of the lane to ride in?
How in the world do you see good enough to ride safely? We have purchsed good rain gear, so I'm not concerned with getting wet. Just concerned about keeping the wife and myself safe.
Any help would be appreciated. :)

·
Infidel
6,331 Posts
Tommie,

I'm no expert but I did ride 150 miles in pouring rain two weekends ago.
Tips:
1. the worst time is when it just starts raining, the water is washing the dirt and oil film off the road. The mixture is quite slippery. If you can, let it rain for 30 minutes or so, then go.

2. on dry pavement use your front brake, on wet pavement use you back brake. Obviously, this neccessitates allowing longer stopping distances, so "slow as she goes" is the phrase that pays.

3. if its a gully washer AND your following a cager (at a safe distance) try to ride in one of the cages wheel tracks (the cage has pushed the water away already, so less chance of hydroplaning).

4. get a pair of clear lens goggles, rain in the eyes = irritation.

5. Remember, even though its raining your still having fun.
:D :D

wyo

·
EvilMonger
8,793 Posts