Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at adding/replacing the following on my '03 Heritage:

Headlight Nacelle
Upper & Lower Chrome sliders
Combo HD Tach/Speedo
Grips

How involved are these to do? I've never done it before and was hoping someone could give me some info. on how difficult these are to do. I would say my skills as a mechanic are good, by now means expert.

Thanks in advance.

·
Free Idears Available
2,270 Posts
Grips and tach are no-brainers for someone mechanically minded. (do you really want to be looking down between your legs when you get curious about how close you are to redline though?...i've never seen any need for a tach on a harley)

The nacelle is just time-consuming.

The sliders however are major surgery and i think you need special tools.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Naah, even the sliders are DIY stuff if you know how to read a manual and have reasonable mechanical ability. The special tools can be made with 5 bucks worth of PCV pipe from Home depot.

·
Registered
575 Posts
What about adding a passing light kit, relocating the turn signals and adding a detachable sissy bar and luggage rack. I have my first bike on order and was wondering if I need to have the shop install......

John

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the replies everyone. I started off thinking that I would have the dealer do everything just because I have never worked on a Harley before, but now I am thinking otherwise. This forum and the people on this forum are awesome. Thanks again!

Charlie, do you have any pictures or instructions on how to make the special tools needed to do the sliders?

·
Free Idears Available
2,270 Posts