V-Twin Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Greetings Gang,
Newbie here with a renewed interested in upgrading my 2000 Softail Standard to new levels of performance.

I've read a bit thus far but am hoping to clarify proper steps to step up performance without sacrificing existing reliability. As one of my friends put it as we were on the roadside one night late, "why are we never wrenching on Bubba's schidt?" I want to keep it that way.

To be fair, the others in the group were riding custom-built bikes and I was on the "manufactured" bike.

I have made a slew of cosmetic upgrades including tires, wheels - including matching brake rotors, seat - matching concho, pegs, grips, bags, windshield, chrome this, chrome that, yadda yadda yadda.

The bike looks good basically but the only performance mods have been Screamin' Eagle plug wires, breather and exhaust. I feel the bike runs very solid aside from the occasional "belch" (which occasionally kills the motor) that I have never been able to get rid of.

So, long story I know, but I am now itching to make this looker more of a runner.

Thanks guys!

Bubba

·
Registered
507 Posts
Well like they say, no replacement for Cubic Inches.......or something like that :D

Forgot to say :welcome: to the forum. You should also see this forum and introduce yourself.

·
Administrator
11,287 Posts
Cams, Ported heads, 95" big bore, change your cam bearings to torringtons, if it is fuel injected get a SERT or PC for tuning, If carb consider getting it reworked or replace with HSR42.

There is so much that can be done. What is your budget? What would you like to get out of the bike in terms of performance? How do you ride? Are you against the rev limiter all the time or do you shift at 4000? Are you a Colts fan? These are all important questions.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Wow!

Wow, that was fast!