V-Twin Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any opinions on this bike? I am considering a Yamaha 650 Classic as my first bike, money is tight and I'm a beginner so it has to be a bike in the $6000 range, but this one looked interesting. The only thing I dont like is the chain drive...how does that compare to the shaft drive of the Yamaha? Is the added mantenance that much of a pain? And has anyone riden both?

·
Premium Member
2,067 Posts
A friend of mine has one... We swapped bikes for a 30 mile ride one day....I think they SUCK!

Really a gutless bike (even after air cleaner, pipes and rejetting), seat was hard; and felt like you were just perched on top of the bike for the ride...I never felt like I was one with the bike like I have on many machines.

I don't know how the Yamaha 650 is but another friend of mine had the V-star 1100 classic and that bike was awesome. Great power for its size, handled well and was comfortable...and yamaha's look better without the radiator stuck on the front downtubes like an afterthought.

Used V-star 1100's can be had for less than your $6000.00 range. I'd definately hold out for a larger displacement unless you want to go with something like the Honda Magna with the V-four 750....that bike will flat out scream and has the good looks of a V-twin.

I hope you find something you like as there is no sadder thing than a motorcycle that doesn't get ridden.

·
Registered
63 Posts
RTod, why don't you just get an 883 Sportster? You can probably get a used one for $6K, or a new one for about $7K.

The sound of the Yamaha is anemic at best even with pipes. The Sportster will give you a good platform you can actually upgrade in years to come (like a 1200 kit).

The Yam will probably run ok, but from what I've read the cornering clearance is somewhat limited. The Sportsters will handle much better and look better too IMHO.

·
Premium Member
547 Posts